God does not give rest. God is rest.

presence of Christ
Psalm 62 has been one of the most powerful scriptures in my life and faith.

“My soul finds rest in God alone,” says verse 1. Or in another rendering, “For God alone my soul is still.”

It continues:

Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God ;he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.

In all the moments of grief and distress and pain, when my soul finds no rest and I have little hope, my soul is silenced and stilled in the presence of God. There I find rest. The Lord Jesus confirms this in reiterating the promise: “Come to me all you who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest, rest for your souls.”

And another scripture explains, for me, the how of that rest. How does God give rest to weary, restless, grieving souls? Well, that’s a natural question to ask, but isn’t quite the right question.

God does not give rest. God IS rest.

In Revelation 20, there is a small sentence that always provokes my wonder and amazement. It’s in verse 11, as John describes seeing the exalted Christ enthroned:

Then I saw a great white throne and Him who was seated on it.
Earth and Sky fled away from His presence, and no place was found for them.

What a staggering statement of of the fullness of God’s presence! He is the ultimate reality, and all else is shifted aside because of the absolute perfection of His being. Like floodwaters gathering against a dam and then bursting out, sweeping everything away by the sheer weight of the waters piled up behind, Jesus enthroned in glory fills the moment such that the weight of His being sweeps everything else away.

So how is it that my soul finds rest in Him? It is precisely this: when Christ dwells in me and I intentionally draw into His presence, there is room for only Him! “The heavens, even the highest heaven cannot contain you, oh God!” (1 kings 8:27) The heavens cannot contain the fullness of God, yet He dwells in our hearts by His spirit! He fills every space, everything else flees away from His presence and there is no room for anything else, and yet still He spills out in rivers of living water that fill the whole of creation.

What space for sin, idolatry, grief, or pain is left? None! He draws near, and there is no room for anything else. His being, resplendent with glory, rushing with eternal tides of every grace, fills. The very fabric of creation unravels and blows away like shredded rags in a strong wind when He comes near.

He does not give us rest, as if it were a packageable commodity. He Himself is our rest as He fills every space in us with the unfathomable fullness of His being.

And indeed, He is my rest, and what can shake me when my God makes the earth and sky flee by His coming?

Find rest in God’s presence.

Leave a Reply

