How much does a soul weigh?

20140506-072956.jpg

To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul; in you I trust, O my God.

Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths; guide me in your truths and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.

For the sake of your name, O Lord, forgive my iniquity, though it is great.

Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted. The troubles of my heart have multiplied; free me from my anguish! Look upon my affliction and my distress, and take away all my sins.

from Psalm 25

What does it mean to lift up your soul to the Lord? How much does the soul weigh?

The answer, I think, is simple: the soul is too weighty for even this feebly limited humanity in which we carry it. We cannot even lift our own souls, ad therefore we trust God to lift then for us.

He lifts and carries our souls down the right ways and paths. He lifts the burden of iniquity from our souls. And when the ever-multiplying troubles, distresses, afflictions, and sorrows of this life cling to the soul like a stone coffin in a sea of sadness, He – and He alone – is able to lift us up and set our feet on dry ground.

The soul was built with the capacity to experience eternal joy, and what great sadness it must also be able to contain, then! The weight of a soul is the space for eternity it contains. And who can lift the weight of eternity? Not us, certainly! Our souls are too deep to be lifted by our own strength.

So…Friend: put your hope in God, trust in Him, look to Him all day long. He can free you from an anguished heart! He can lift your soul! He is the Maker and Sustainer, and eternity is in His hand.

Let your soul be in His hand today, also.

20140506-072604.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

