A morning’s prayer for cold hearts

“Why are you downcast, o my soul; why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Savior and my God.” (Psalm 42:5)

If you’re like me, you often find your heart cold and un-moved by the grace of Jesus. I have found that the writers of the Psalms had it right: when your heart is cold or your soul is downcast, rebuke and encourage your heart with the truth of God’s love.

Bless the Lord, o my soul!
For He is the eternal One,
the Creator and Giver.
He has looked upon me –
the work of His hands
which He has knit together –
and has loved me.

O soul, rejoice!
Drink deep of the Father’s steadfast love!
Be washed in the never ending flow of grace and mercy!

Your love, o Lord, never fails;
it presses forward inexorably
like the incoming tide of the sea
pressed on with all the ocean’s weight.
Your grace is like the mightiest river;
impossible to dam or deplete;
watering the hearts of all your people.

Be washed in the tide, o soul.
Wash me, o Lord!
Drink deep of the river, o soul.
Satisfy me in the stream, Lord!

O Father, you are good forever.
In the far-reaching heavens –
you are good.
In the unseen heavenly realms –
you are good.
To all mankind –
you are good.
In the giving of rains and seasons –
you are good.
In all my life from birth –
you are good.
In the dark moments, and those blackened by sin –
you are good.
In these days, and this season –
you are good.
In this place and this day –
you are good.
As I cry out to you even now in this moment;
as I behold the brightness of your loving countenance –
your goodness delights my soul!
I will declare, and will always proclaim,
that you, o Lord, are good!

Leave a Reply

