He Will Keep Me, I Will Hope

“Therefore, you do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed. He will keep you strong to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ.” –1 Corinthians 1:7-8

What beautiful truths! I lack nothing I need for any spiritual task, “for in Him I have been enriched in every way.” (1 Cor. 1:5). All gifts of Christ are mine, because Christ Himself is mine!

More and more, I understand and identify with Paul when he says “as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed.” It becomes a constant refrain in my heart and prayers.

And how very comforting is the 2nd verse above! Jesus will carry me through. He will keep me blameless to the end. He will enable me to finish the race. Oh glorious, what a Savior! My blamelessness and strength through the end do not depend on my effort, but on God’s effort.

“Though He slay me, yet I will hope in Him…” –Job 13:15

Could I say this with Job? His words echo what must have been Isaac’s thoughts as he lay down on the alter beneath his father’s uplifted knife. We have no record of the boy fighting…only trusting the words of his father that they would return; that God would provide.

If it were me, could I faithfully cling to the alter and look up lovingly into the face of my heavenly Father as He held aloft the blade of suffering? If all worldly outcomes worse than death were to fall on me as His hand descended, could I yet hope in Him? It is not a question of hoping in Him in death – that were inexhaustible gain: “For to me…to die is gain.” (Phil. 1:21) But rather, could I hope in Him through the gifts of intense, living pain?

Who can say until that day comes? But I am confident in the Lord’s strength in me, and “it is my eager expectation and hope that now, as always, Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death.” (Phil. 1:20) He will keep me strong til the end.

I will hope in Him.

Though He slay me, I will hope.

Though He let me live and make me die each day (1 Cor 15:31, 2 Cor 4:11), yet will I hope.

Though I be given daily to slaughter like a sheep (Rom. 8:36), yet even still will I hope.

I will hope in Him.

Come quickly, Lord Jesus! (Rev 22:20)

Leave a Reply

