Overcome, weeping, praying for the nations

I love the church where God has placed me. My precious flock have told me more than once that I am a blessing to them, but they do not know what an extraordinary blessing they have been to me. I love them deeply, and care for their hurts, and mourn when they mourn, and rejoice when they rejoice. They are my people.

But I am overcome in this moment with a broken-hearted love for the nations, and with a love for the gospel, and with a desire to bring the gospel to those in dark nations. Visions of children who will grow old without ever hearing about Jesus crush my heart. Thoughts of men and women created in the image of God who live every moment in danger of an eternity separated from God – because they do not know the Savior who I know – these thoughts anguish my soul.

I am weeping.

Oh God, send workers into the harvest! Lord Jesus, send your people into the fields! Send your Spirit among those who are saved and break their hearts with joy in Christ, and break their hearts with sadness for those who do not know Him. Jesus, satisfy the hearts of your people – satisfy them so completely that they would be willing to leave all other things behind in order to go to the harvest fields. Lord Jesus, fill your people so fully that they would JOYFULLY forsake homes, businesses, family, familiarity, finances, and anything else in order to follow you to the glorious task of harvesting souls. Father, send out the fishers of men; send out the hunters of souls. Strengthen your people in order that they might go to dark places and find those who are not yet your people.

And Jesus, I know that you have placed me here. Father, I rejoice in the glorious task which you have given me here in this place. I know that, in this moment and until you release me, my calling is here with this people in this place…but oh God, send me! Lord, if there are no others, send me! Great God of Heaven – here am I, send me! Gladly will I give up the comforts you have blessed me with. Gladly will I go. And gladly do I stay, Father. Oh God, I am in your hands to dispose of as you will. Use me as you see fit. Send me where you desire, and let the gospel always be on my lips! Blessed be your name, o Lord.

“Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness, and when he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, ‘The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.’” Matthew 9:35-38

Leave a Reply

