A Sunday Service condensed

How Deep The Father’s Love For Us

How deep the Father’s love for us,
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

How great the pain of searing loss,
The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the chosen One,
Bring many sons to glory

Behold the Man upon a cross,
My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed I hear my mocking voice,
Call out among the scoffers

It was my sin that left Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

I will not boast in anything
No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ
His death and resurrection

Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

Brothers and sisters this is the gospel! Jesus left His eternally glorious throne in Heaven and came here to be a suffering servant, He came to die a horrible death after living a life of hardship. And He did this so that we might KNOW Him and BE WITH Him.

So, here’s the thing to know and understand. Our greatest need in any time of suffering is Jesus. Our utmost need is Christ.

But be careful! Don’t fall into the error of thinking that peace or comfort or anything else FROM Jesus is what you need most. NO! What you need is HIM. And having HIM is what satisfies us. Don’t think of peace or healing or strength as a little packaged gift that is sent from Jesus to us, as if it’s in Jesus’ hands and then He hands it off to us and then is not connected to it. That’s not how He works. He gives HIMSELF, and all possible grace is IN HIM and with Him personally.

So when we pray for peace, we don’t get a little heaven-package of peace – we get Jesus. And when we pray for comfort, we don’t get a little gift-wrapped version of it – we get Jesus. HE is the one we need. HE is the hope in our suffering. HE is the balm for our broken hearts. HE is the rest for the weary. He doesn’t give us objects. He doesn’t give us feelings. He gives us HIMSELF. There is no grace received apart from Him. All is IN Him.

And, dear friends, this is the greatest hope that could be imagined. Because if we have Jesus, then we know that there is not hope to be able to endure suffering now, but we also know that with Jesus there will be no suffering in eternity.

The terrifying truth is that suffering in this life, no matter how awful, is NOTHING compared to what those who do not have Jesus will experience in eternity. You would choose the worst day in this life, a day 10,000 times worse, rather than a single moment of the torment in hell.

And this is what Christ has done! – His greatest suffering was not physical, but spiritual. He endured the suffering of Hell on the cross. And He did this so that we wouldn’t have to! Jesus suffered more in 3 hours on the cross than anyone has ever suffered in any lifetime. God’s wrath fell like mountains on His brow. The agony; the anguish! The infinitely powerful God opened the fullness of His limitless strength to PUNISH, to TORMENT, to CRUSH Jesus – the innocent one.

So my friends, everything rests on putting our trust in Jesus, and not in ourselves or any earthly thing. Our hope is in what HE has done, not in what we can do. We receive Jesus when we submit to Him and put our trust in Him. There is no greater need. Suffering now is endured because we have Him. Eternal suffering is escaped because we have Him. And instead of suffering, we get the joy, the delight, the soul-stretching fullness of the love from the eternal Son of God.

Brothers and sisters, our Savior knows the pain of suffering intimately. Jesus suffered horribly, and WILLINGLY…

…so that you might have love IN HIM

…so that you might have hope IN HIM

…so that the temporary suffering of this life would give way to eternal joy WITH HIM

“I consider that the sufferings of this life are not worth being compared to the glory that will be revealed in us.” Romans 8:18

I Need Thee Every Hour

I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;

No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

I need Thee, oh, I need Thee;

Every hour I need Thee;

Oh, bless me now, my Savior,

I come to Thee.

I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;

Temptations lose their pow’r when Thou art nigh.

I need Thee, oh, I need Thee;

Every hour I need Thee;

Oh, bless me now, my Savior,

I come to Thee.

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;

Come quickly and abide, or life is vain.

I need Thee, oh, I need Thee;

Every hour I need Thee;

Oh, bless me now, my Savior,

I come to Thee.

I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;

And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.

I need Thee, oh, I need Thee;

Every hour I need Thee;

Oh, bless me now, my Savior,

I come to Thee.

I need Thee every hour, most Holy One;

Oh, make me Thine indeed, Thou blessed Son.

Leave a Reply

