Poevda-untChri

Ok, so here’s the deal: I know a couple people (well, actually I only know 1 of them) who challenged themselves to create something every day for 7 days. It doesn’t matter what it is, but they must begin and finish some creative project every day for 1 week. You can watch their progress here, and maybe get a few ideas for holiday projects!

http://naminganimals.blogspot.com/

http://marycarlisle.blogspot.com/

I like the idea…except that I don’t have the time or materials to actually make things. So, I figured I would just write something every day for 7 days. But then I figured, “Hey, why not just write one every day until Christmas?!” And thus was birthed Poems Every Day Until Christmas, or Poevda-untChri for short. (I pronounce it “poe-EHV-dah  UNT-kree”, if you were wondering.) I don’t know if I’ll actually be able to write a poem every day between now and Christmas, but Here’s to trying, right?

Today’s poem was inspired by a few friends who were posting on facebook last night about pulling all-nighters to write papers. Then someone made a reference to “The Raven” by Edgar Allen Poe, and then the two combined in my mind. So, here we are, with apologies to Poe:

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
over many a halfway-finished final term-paper’s words.
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping
of the hurried tik-tik-takking – typing on the comp’s keyboard.
‘Tis facebook time,’ I muttered, typing on the comp’s keyboard.
‘Just a little break, and nothing more.’

Ah, distinctly I remember, it was in the bleak December,
and each student-body member tallied words up like a score.
Eagerly I wished the morrow, vainly I had sought to borrow
from Facebook surcease of sorrow, sorrow for the tasks ignored;
For those rank, required tasks so intentionally ignored,
a woe well-known in student lore.

And the mindless, mad, and merry searching of all my friends’ postings
thrilled me – filled me with apathy for this semester’s final chores,
so that now, to quiet my good-student conscience, I kept repeating,
‘All this lack of sleeping will soon put me on the floor.
A Facebook break is just the ticket, lest I pass out on the floor.
Just a little break, and nothing more.’”

Presently resolve grew stronger; hesitating then no longer,
‘Right,’ said I, ‘let’s do this. I’ll not give in to sleepy snores.
There’s the bullet, I’ll just bite it. All I have to do is write it,
so I’ll just log off – log off Facebook now and get to the chore.
That’s what I’ll do. It’s easy.’ So logged I off to set to the chore,
and then I sat……and nothing more.

Deep into the pages peering, long I sat there, wondering, fearing,
dozing, dreaming dreams no student ever dared to dream before;
but the silence then was broken, and in the stillness I heard spoken,
‘Hey! Wake up! Don’t you know it’s almost four?!’
‘Four?’ I murmured, ‘It can’t be as late as four.
I swear I slept a moment, and nothing more!’

Back to my final paper turning, I typed out words, sometimes slurring,
but the pages were all coming so much faster than before.
‘Surely,’ said I, ‘surely I’ll be able to finish ‘fore it’s due.
All jokes aside, the deadline’s soon, and an F I really can’t afford.
To graduate I must pass this class; an F I really cannot afford.
I’ll finish, then I’ve nothing more.’

And, indeed, I quickly finished, leaving not one word unpolished;
glad at the prospect of my bed’s softness – it’s softer than the floor.
I opened up the browser page to send my paper, and then, oh RAGE!
‘No! Don’t do this! I have no time! Your mercy I implore!
Oh please no! The paper’s due! I’m done! Your mercy I implore!’
Quoth the server: ‘404*.’

*Note: 404 is the error code when the server cannot find or load a webpage.

One thought on “Poevda-untChri

Leave a Reply

