Missed Opportunities

I don’t really like thinking about it, but sometimes I’m struck with how many opportunities to share my faith and opportunities to be Godly that I have botched. It’s fairly depressing when I’m honest with myself about it. How many times has God presented me with an opportunity to be Godly and serve Him, and how many times have I refused Him? And for what? A moment of pleasure? A moment of relaxation? A moment of rebellion? A lot of good a single moment does in the grand scheme of things. Yet, for the desire of some menial emotion or feel-good, or because of the momentary absence of passion to serve God, I have waved goodbye to opportunities that could have made greater the kingdom of Christ.

Why is it that so often a moment takes precedence over eternity, and that I exchange the fleeting desires of a single minute in time over the everlasting glory of an eternal God?

Is it forgetfulness? Perhaps I simply can’t keep my mind on the Lord long enough to do everything He asks of me. Or maybe it’s simply willful disobedience. I know what He’s asking of me and I choose not to do it. Is it fear, or shame, or evidence of a dispassionately lived Christ-follower life?

Whatever it is, I’m tired of it. I like how Paul says it:
1 Corinthians 9:27
“No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”

When I lean fully on HIS strength and live continually at the foot of His throne, letting Him crush any momentary desire to turn away, then God will be exalted.
Phillippians 1:20-21
“I eagerly expect and hope that I will be in no way ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so that now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.”

Lord, give me the courage to be Godly, master me so that you may be exalted in me and sap all my strength so that I must rely on Yours and Yours alone. And when the moments come in which you give me the opportunity to serve you, make everything else unimportant compared to your eternal glory. May you ever be glorified in my life.

2 thoughts on “Missed Opportunities

    • “Therefore, I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all men. For I did not shrink from declaring to you the whole purpose of God.” Acts 20:26

      Responsibility. Culpability. Blood on our hands.

      God is completely sovereign, but He still holds us accountable when we fail to do that which He has commanded us. I would trade all the sleep in my entire life to be able to say that my hands were clean; that I had fully declared the gospel at every opportunity.

      How much blood is on my hands because of my disobedience?
      How much is on yours?

      “You see that a man is justified by works and not by faith alone.” James 2:24
      “For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each one may be recompensed for his deeds in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.” 2 Corinthians 5:10

      Sovereignty doesn’t negate personal culpability. There will be judgement for the blood on my hands.
      And the blood on your hands.

      I do sleep well. Too well. I wish these things would keep me up at night more.

Leave a Reply

