Oh to grace how great a debtor!

As I was praying through Proverbs this morning, and pondering the words of Solomon, I was struck with how utterly dependant on grace that we are, that I am.  Over and over Solomon exhorts the young men to whom he’s writing to keep the teachings of wisdom close to heart and mind, to meditate on them, and to avoid all opportunities to stray from the path of righteousness.

As I was confessing to my savior the ways I find that I most often stray and begging Him to keep me faithful and keep my feet on the narrow path, I found that my heart was looking favorably on my sins! Oh what a wretch I am! How utterly rebellious is my heart, that as I am confessing and asking forgiveness my heart is praising the very things I am seeking to throw aside! And as I thought more, I realized that this is often the case. Wretch! Sinner! Rebel without hope! I can no more seek God than I can turn air into gold; I have no more power over my heart, to lift it up to God and His glory than I have to lift a mountain over my head.

How I longed, in that realization, for the coming of the Lord so that I might experience the lasting and final redemption and go to where His glory is so heavy that nothing else ever could arrest my attention. And how I despaired, knowing that in a short time how far to the back of my mind this longing would be pushed by the every day goings on of life. And how amazing did the grace of God also seem in that moment: that He should be pleased to take such a wretched, rebellious, sinful heart as mine and cover it in the blood of Christ! Beautiful, powerful grace!

♪♪Oh to grace how great a debtor daily I’m constrained to be. Let thy grace, Lord, like a fetter bind my wand’ring heart to thee. Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it; prone to leave the God I love! Here’s my heart, Lord take a seal it – seal it for thy courts above.

♪♪Grace, grace, God’s grace! Grace that is greater than all my sin!

♪♪Wonderful the matchless grace of Jesus – greater far than all my sin and shame! Higher than the mountains, sparkling like a fountain, all sufficient grace for even me! Broader than the scope of my transgressions; greater far than all my sin and shame! Oh magnify the precious grace of Jesus! PRAISE HIS NAME!♪

Our God is good, and His grace is infinite and more than sufficient for us, though we are a rebellious people who cannot be obedient. Praise God that, in his grace and mercy, he has redeemed us and made an eternal sacrifice, once and for all, for all the wretchedness our wicked hearts could ever invent. Praise God, my friend, that he has shown grace, and may your heart be turned towards him!

Blessings, and amen!

2 thoughts on “Oh to grace how great a debtor!

  1. Oh Daniel!
    What a great word for me to read this morning!
    It’s true that the grace we have is so undeserved, but praise the Lamb that He freely gives it to us!

    Hope seminary is wonderful!
    Have a great day!

    -Kayla

  2. It is, in fact, wonderful. Thank you! 🙂
    Hope you’re doing well and enjoying the first day of class at good ole LC. Boy I miss everyone there.

    Thanks for reading, my friend. Take care.

Leave a Reply

